≡ Menu

Garcinia Cambogia & Apple Cider Vinegar Review: Scam Busted!

[Note: if you want to return your Garcinia product for refund, please go to bottom of this page.]

The other day I was on Facebook and I came across a “CNN news” on Garcinia Cambogia and apple cider vinegar. The combo has helped Amanda Haughman, a student at University of Virginia (some say she’s from Cornell University) to shed off 30 pounds in just one month! Sometimes this diet recipe also calls for apple juice, lemon, and cayenne ginger.

In any case, the formula is the new breakthrough of weight loss!




Sigh.. here we go again.


I thought the Garcinia craze has passed, but obviously, it is still around the corner.

There was a time when I would grab these Garcinia products and seriously hope they work. After all, Dr. Oz said Garcinia Cambogia could help you to shed pounds with “no diet, no exercise, and no effort”. And hey, Dr.Oz is medically trained at Harvard University and the University of Pennsylvania. He’s also a board-certified cardiothoracic surgeon. In Oz we should trust, or so I thought.

Well, I know better now.

The truth is: the vast majority of Garcinia Cambogia products do not work. The scientific evidence supporting Garcinia Cambogia as a weight loss supplement is slender (that’s actually the case with most weight loss pills).

Also, Garcinia Cambogia and apple cider vinegar diet will not result in fast weight loss if you don’t watch your diet.

Not convinced? Let’s take a look at the science:

According to a systemic review and meta-analysis of 12 randomized [1] clinical trials (including a total of 706 participants), Garcinia Cambogia did not significantly help people lose weight anymore than a placebo.

Another 2013 study found that the effectiveness of Garcinia against obesity remained unproven in ‘large-scale and longer-term clinical trials’. [2]

The bottom line here is: the benefit of Garcinia Cambogia is far from impressive. It shows only the smallest effect on weight loss, and even that might be momentarily. In case you are not aware, Dr. Oz is sued for hawking Garcinia Cambogia supplements on TV [3]. Class action lawsuit filed against Oz last year claims ‘all credible scientific evidence’ proves Garcinia does not work.

So… what about apple cider vinegar?

Despite the hype, there has been very little research about using apple cider vinegar for weight loss.

A small study conducted by Dr. James Brown from Aston University [4] has shown that apple cider vinegar does not aid weight loss.

A 2012 study [5] noted that North-African women have used apple cider vinegar to achieve weight loss for generations. However, the vinegar also results in significant tooth erosion.

On the positive note, a study [6] in overweight subjects showed that daily consumption of apple cider vinegar led to lower triglyceride levels, reduction in belly fat and body weight. But the result is not really exciting: the vinegar group lost 1-2 pounds over a period of 12 weeks.

In short, apple cider vinegar may have some benefits when it comes to weight loss, but it’s definitely not a magical fix.




Buyer beware
The websites that promote Garcinia Cambogia and apple cider vinegar are likely to be scams. These dodgy websites look identical but hosted on different domain names.

Almost everything about the sites is fake: the weight loss claims and results, the CNN interview, the reporters, the testimonials, and the limited offers.

If you go to the official website of CNN, you will NOT find any related news about this miraculous diet. The CNN endorsement is fake and unauthorized.

Also, the names of the advertised Garcinia products keep changing. There are Garcinia Lean Extreme, Supreme Fit Garcinia, Pure Garcinia, Garcinia Life Plus, UltraPur Forskolin, Garcinia Total, to name a few. They all have one thing in common: lack of clinical evidence to back up the outrageous claims.

They all have one thing in common: lack of clinical evidence to back up the outrageous claims.

Another huge red flag is the “free trial” program. Consumers are invited to “try” the Garcinia product for a small shipping and handling fees ($4.95). According to the terms and conditions, if you do not cancel within 14 days, you will be charged $68.12 every month for a new bottle.

I doubt if the offer is really genuine. Think about it: the 14-day trial period begin on the days you place the order. By the time you receive your Garcinia supply, you only have few days to test it. In addition, “free trials” can often cost you a lot more money, as you are very unlikely to get your refund. Just look at this growing number of complaints on Rip Off Report and Scambook.

Closing 
In a nutshell, stay away from websites touting Garcinia Cambogia and apple cider vinegar diet. Avoid free trials at all cost.

As people always say: if sounds too good to be true, it probably is!

Recommended reading: Do this simple 2-minutes ritual to lose 1 pound of belly fat




Free Trial Cancellation Contact Number
If you want to return your Garcinia products for refund, please refer to the following list for address and phone number. I will update this section periodically.

Garcinia Lean Xtreme
1-877-591-6118
3960 Howard Hughes Parkway, Suite 500, Las Vegas, NV 89169

Garcinia Life Plus
1-888-589-0951
3150e Kenwood Blvd, Milwaukee WI 53211

Garcinia Ultra Slim Trim
1-888-707-8642
4326 S Scatterfield Rd. Ste 316,Anderson, Indiana

Slim Fit 180
1-855-475-3667
USA customers return to: FDC Returns c/o SlimFit180,PO Box 61553, Savannah, GA 31420

Canadian customers return to: PO Box 62008, 19-1448 Lawrence Ave E Toronto, ON, M4A 2S0, Canada

Sonix Garcinia
877-302-5408

Regal Slim
1-800-398-3087

Exceptional Garcinia Cambogia
877-721-9469
P.O. Box 20800, Fountain Valley, CA 92728, United States

GarciBurn Garcinia Cambogia
800-430-4985

Fulfillment Warehouse / Nutra Discount
5647 W Wells Park Rd Ste A
West Jordan, UT 84081

Opti Lost Garcinia Cambogia
877-348-1790
16787 Beach Blvd #530, Huntington Beach, CA 92647-4848

Garcinia Fuel
1 (866) 588-7776
support@trygarciniafuel.com
PO Box 23763, Saint Petersburg, FL 33742

TrimGenix Garcinia
1-888-235-8065
FULFILLMENT c/o TrimGenix Garcinia
37 Inverness Drive East, Suite 100
Englewood, CO 80112

Extreme Fit 180
877-637-0205

Imperium Garcinia Cambogia
(866) 275-1104
PO Box 23876,
Saint Petersburg, FL 33742-3801

Garcinia Clean XT
1-844-629-8624
support@phenomhealth.com

Obtain your RMA from :
USA Returns Warehouse
Phenom Health Returns
11551 E. 45th Avenue, Unit C
Denver, CO 80239

Garcinia Lean Xtreme
1-877-591-6118
support@garcinialeanxtreme.com

Obtain your RMA from :
USA Returns Warehouse
Phenom Health Returns
11551 E. 45th Avenue, Unit C
Denver, CO 80239

Slimtech Garcinia Cambogia
(888) 422-9040

Nutralife Garcinia Cambogia
Freephone (in Australia): 1300 360 077
Physical Address: Level 1, 82 Waterloo Road, North Ryde, NSW 2113, Sydney, NSW
Postal Address: PO Box 399, North Ryde BC, NSW 1670

Nutralyfe Garcinia
+91 11 6525278
219, Udyog Vihar Phase 4, Gurgaon, Haryana – 122002

Vita Fit Garcinia
1-888-629-8468
Vita-Fit Garcinia Returns
9353 Bolsa Ave #C14 Westminister
CA, 92683-5951

{ 53 comments… add one }
  • Megan February 23, 2017, 1:52 am

    I ordered this free trial through Facebook on 14 February and paid $3.95. I have not yet received my free trial and have not received any emails or anything about my order after paying, which set off alarm bells. Do you know how I can contact the company from Australia?

    • Judy Duiker May 9, 2017, 9:46 am

      I had the same thing happen to me (I am in Sth Aust) watch your bank account for them taking money off your credit card, they took 2 lots of $130 off my card.
      I received an email confirming my order with an order number but received nothing.
      If you want to contact them go to the “Contact Us” link at the bottom of the page. The only way I could contact them was on my mobile phone. Hope this helps.

      • Jo June 5, 2017, 9:53 am

        Where do I find the contact number please for Australia can’t find it anywhere.

        • Esme August 8, 2017, 11:12 am

          Same thing happens to me.What a scam ! $138 $141 just taken.We will surely never get our money back !

    • Nalaya July 7, 2017, 5:25 pm

      The number I called was (855) 715-1109 soon after i did my order i cancelled it after readin this article they asked me why did i want to cancel it and tried to offer me a 20 or 50 percent discount and i said no and they gave me my money back so call the number

  • Laura March 6, 2017, 6:40 am

    Thank you!!! So hard to find someone that can write a proper review and that isn’t scamming or selling themselves – especially on this subject – thanks for the stats – Laura

  • Heidi April 3, 2017, 4:02 pm

    I haven’t tried the garcinia Cambogia diet pills but I can say that I started a month in a half ago the organic apple cider vinegar and I have lost 15 lbs so far with no excersise I know this sounds terrible because we all should be excersising….

    • Lynne Huffman April 8, 2017, 3:17 pm

      How do you use the ACV? I’ve seen several different recipes (warm water, ACV, honey, tumeric, etc.) and not one says how much of the ingredients to mix together.

      • Candace Jackson April 11, 2017, 10:34 pm

        Did you find out the amount yet?

    • Brandi Lubbers May 2, 2017, 2:23 pm

      How much apple cider vinegar were you taking and how often?

    • crystal May 18, 2017, 10:36 pm

      I have been on the apple cider vinegar diet for 3 months now and have lost 28lbs. No exercise at all. Just modified my eating habits. Very happy 😊 about my results!!!

      • Hermes July 1, 2017, 2:30 pm

        Stop using all these harmful product and start going to the gym. Learn how to exercise without taking any pill or using protein that will later have some side effect on you later on in the future.

    • Mary Badger July 23, 2017, 7:39 pm

      How much apple cider vinager are you takin?

    • James Pfister August 30, 2017, 7:44 pm

      Hello Heidi
      Sorry to bother you, but I was wondering if you are still using the Apple cider vinegar diet and I’m getting similar results as you described in your comment. May I ask what the specifics of the diet where? … how much, how often? Thank you so much for your time and best of luck to you. Regards, Jim

  • Sigrid April 7, 2017, 2:45 am

    BEWARE
    Took up the offer of a ‘free trial’ advertised through LifeChoices newsletter.
    Paid $4.95 on 24/4/2017 still have not received the product.
    On 5/4/2017 have had $124.73 deducted from my account. Still no product.
    The irony is as I am on a pension I will not be able to afford to buy any food this week
    so naturally or unnaturally I will be losing weight.
    I am currently in the process of following up with Consumer Affairs and the LifeChoices advertising department.

    • Amelia April 9, 2017, 4:08 pm

      This has happened to me a couple of times (I don’t learn) but have managed to get out of it.

      You need to call them and tell them you will dispute the credit card charge. They will try to give you “one time exceptions” of this and that percent. You don’t budge and keep saying that it’s unacceptable until eventually they give in. And if f they don’t, then dispute the charge.

      • CARLA August 4, 2017, 4:44 pm

        What number did you call?

    • Melissa August 8, 2017, 12:54 pm

      They did the same thing they took out 80 this morning and no product

  • mcdell April 8, 2017, 2:32 am

    Everything you said is mostly accurate other than the CNN comment and its authenticity, the study is real and the results are skewed, according to the study that was conducted at Cornel, there are certain independent variables that can aid in the success of weight loss with ACV and GC. The study says if you have thyroid disease that has been treated it will not result in significant weight loss without exercise. So I agree with you up to the point of the validity of the CNN report it’s real.

  • Noel April 13, 2017, 11:19 pm

    Hey. I just got this. Someone ordered it by “accident” with my card and it was ordered on 3/31/17 and it has arrived. I paid about $10 for a “free trial” and I haven’t opened the bottles. How do I refund my money and send the products back and also keep them from charging my card every month?? Someone please help.

    • Djqkdjsmensmsmdnfn June 10, 2017, 7:55 pm

      Contact PayPal or whatever you use to pay with your card. They will talk to them and have them refund your money back.

  • Carrie Coy April 28, 2017, 2:09 pm

    I juat ordered my free trail of Garcinia Cambogia please do not charge my credit card for anything else thank you

  • John April 28, 2017, 7:45 pm

    I was impressed with the Garcinia story and the pictures of the Gal and her college buddy she helped to reduce his weight. I ordered th $4.95 shipping fee. I got the product anmd gave it to my friend. Then within a short time ( not long enought to be a valid test of effect) I examined my CC bill and there wer two

  • John April 28, 2017, 8:00 pm

    Hey I was telling you about my two orders at 4.95 and the billing quickly for $89,// . I called my Credit Card and complained. they sent me papers which I filed ,
    They credited my account for the two $89 charges.. The issued me a replacement card so the “biller ” couldn’t charge on the original any more. During the time lags the Biller charged another $89. I called the CC again he looked at my record of complain, ad while I was on the phone issued another credit. I advise ,from this and earlier fraud billing, CALL YOURR CC. They will issue a charge back to the merchant immediately if they sniff fraud. I did have to go with out CC for 5 days while my new one was in the mail. I don;t understad the folks that sound as if they have made a cc deposit (how Else), and yet don;t say they turned to their CC for help.

  • BILLY Bottrell May 1, 2017, 10:57 am

    Hey I just order mine and they rang me to confirm my order they said I will get my order in 5-10 business days from today let see if it works for I need to try something

    • Hermes July 1, 2017, 2:40 pm

      Stop being lazy and go to the gym.

  • Julie May 1, 2017, 11:26 am

    Hi, I also agreed to the initial postage of free Garcinia authentic. Now I have been charged 89.99 US for the next 2 months without me being aware of it.
    Unfortunately I did not record the name of the company on the website however The original phone number on the website for support was 1 844 847 5440
    The email address on the bottle is support@myhealth-beauty.com Ph 18665696658
    Is anyone able to provide me with name and address of company on these phone numbers? so I can return this product.

    • peter fleet May 10, 2017, 3:56 am

      if its any help for you i just bought a jar of garcinia cambogia and the address is written on the jar
      Nature s Care Manufacture Pty Ltd.
      5 Minna Close Belrose NSW 2085
      AUSTRALIA PH. 02 9485
      http://www.healthycare.com.au

    • Gloria May 12, 2017, 8:51 am

      This is a total rip off but we don’t know until you purchase it needs to be put on Facebook to stop people getting ripped off

    • gary May 22, 2017, 4:02 pm

      Google the phone no. cause it’ll usually give the name and address if it’s legit.

    • Cassie August 7, 2017, 8:56 pm

      I got the phone number off my credit card statement.

  • pauline bloom May 3, 2017, 10:55 am

    After reading all the reviews about scam I wish to cancel Cambogia best at Support complete wellness.com phone 1.844.8475457 sent away for this 28th April

  • pauline bloom May 3, 2017, 10:59 am

    which to cancel free trial of cambogia best from support complete wellness .com phone no1.844.847.5457 order was se nt 28th APRIL

  • Natalie May 6, 2017, 2:40 pm

    Tried ACV & GC for 3 weeks. No exercise, no diet change, NO weight loss. As a matter of fact, I gained weight. Obviously it doesn’t work.

  • Larry White May 16, 2017, 6:46 pm

    This is a SCAM!!!! They will charge your bank account without your knowlege. Thye say it is a 14 day trail and they say they can’t give you a refund. Then they will try to give you a 30% credit, then a 50 % credit DON’T LET THEM…. Tell them you will return the product and want a full refund and you will wait the 2 weeks for it to happen. They will then give you an option for a full refund.
    The number to call is 1-800-637-1092

  • Jelinda May 18, 2017, 9:42 am

    I started taking Essential Elements brand of Garcinia Cambogia for about 6 to 8 months. I was also on the Atkins original induction diet for a couple of months before taking the supplement and already losing weight. The induction diet puts you in benign ketosis which suppresses the appetite naturally. The supplement with the diet seriously suppressed my appetite and I lost 60 pounds. I took my time about 7 months to lose 64 total and then I had to take the supplement a couple of times a week only or I would forget to eat. Its been almost a year and I have kept the weight off and don’t gain as long as stick to the maintenance Atkins diet. Atkins works point blank. Got rid of my hypertension and diabetes in 2 months. I was pre diabetic. Eat all I want of protein and veggies and have added back on occasion starchy veggies. Feel great eating this way. I love my fatty steaks and lamb and my cholesterol was good and still is eating eggs and cheese also frequently

  • Ruth May 26, 2017, 7:50 pm

    There is always some type of catch in the small print. When you see these offers always look at the Terms and Conditions. Sometimes, they say in the advertisement that it is a ’30 Day Free Trial offer’. Then you look at the small print and it shows that they will charge your card in 14 days if you don’t cancel. They also have you on an auto-ship type program that will keep sending the product. A lot of times, you are still waiting on the product at 14 days. Just don’t fall for it. They got me 1 time many years ago.

  • Mel May 27, 2017, 7:57 pm

    This is such a scam. I accessed a CNN link after reading about a Student at Harvard who lost a lot of weight on garcinia cambogia and Braggs apple cider vinegar. So I clicked on the link which says that you will get a Free 30-day supply, you can try risk free. Then it asks for your information. Says you qualify, that stock is limited, and to rush the 14 day trial/30 day supply for $5.99. It then requires you to enter your shipping information and then credit card information. At no point does it tell you that you are signing up to pay $90 a month and that you will be auto-billed every month. I does tell you that there is a money back guarantee when you enter your CC information. I will say that I fell for the scam. I have taken 2.5 weeks of the pills and the apple cider vinegar and have lost not a singe pound. Plus I just got billed today for $90. I called 3 times, was told 2 times they don’t do refunds, before someone I spoke with agreed to assist me with a refund. But who knows if I will get one. I called my CC company and since I was able too verify the charge, they will not assist me. BUYER BE WARE!!!!! This is a scam!!

    • Kim May 28, 2017, 7:36 pm

      What is the number you called?

  • fran brister June 4, 2017, 6:24 pm

    Please do not get hooked with company ,it is a scam .Last oct ,I ordered a product paid the shipping fee ,never got the product In Nov ,the company took two hundred out of my checking acc,Thank God I got to the bank with only 2 days to spare, you have only 60 days from the time the money is taken to make a dispute against the company,I did and the money was returned to my acct, in Jan

  • Erika June 6, 2017, 9:20 pm

    Hi ladies I did buy the product and I got it within 3days i just want to know before I try them what are the side affects cuz I do have a full time job I can’t be stuck in the restroom all day and I also want to know are they real? Witch ones are fake and witch ones are real Iam excited to try just to see if it works but I need to know more about them 😟 Can anybody help me ??!! I got the balance fit garcinia and the enhance fit mango cleanse!!!

  • Brandi Perkins June 16, 2017, 10:35 pm

    I have been on this diet 3&1/2 weeks with no weight loss what so ever. I am so dissapointed. I need to lose weight because of my knees, that hurt and chronic pain I have due to arthritis.

  • Danny Francis June 20, 2017, 1:56 pm

    I have been drinking ACV for 2 years, never lost a pound unless I dieted abd exercised. Recently experimented with Garcinia Cambogia AND Forskolin (which I ordered a trial and got hugely ripped off with a $200 order I could not get resolved) all while still drinking ACV (even added Cayenne pepper). Tried this combo for 4 weeks…gained 3 poinds. If you want to lose weight there is no magic pill. Need to diet and exercise or have surgury.

  • Rose Squire June 29, 2017, 3:12 pm

    You are so right. Garcinia Cambogia is a scam. Even with the name Exceptional, Extreme, and there’s other kinds. I always do the trials. The phone number on the bottle that some don’t see, due to the small print, you are suppose to call to cancel. They still charge your card. When it says 30 day trial, the 30 days start from the date you ordered. Its more like 20 days. I haven’t seen any results. The people they show are being paid and pictures ate airbrushed. They need to “STOP LYING”. There are people like me needs to lose weight. We are spending money to do so. Some of us can’t exercise and is trying change eating habits. But this program states you don’t have to change your eating regimen. I’m with Mel, Fran, and Danny. Dr. Oz you are already rich. We don’t need to be poorer making you richer. Have some compassion on those who are actually fighting to lose weight. You can and your employees, yes the celebrities and those that is being airbrushed have the money to do cosmetic surgeries and tummy tucks. HELP US DON’T RIP US OFF

  • Laura July 2, 2017, 4:04 pm

    If you want to try this product without the hassle of monthly fees buy it on the Geek app or Wish app. It’s 8 dollars with shipping. I’ve only been taking it for about a week and not much results but it does curb your appetite and gives you more energy throughout the day. I also take B12 with it every morning and I’ve had tons more energy. Hope this helps:)

  • Dawn July 2, 2017, 11:52 pm

    If you want to try it without the hassle of ordering the sell it at Walgreens and CVS.

  • Janina July 7, 2017, 6:50 am

    Buyer be ware!!! Scam scam scam. Had not received items, went and cancelled CC, so no other charges could be withdrawn. With new CC issued.

  • December July 16, 2017, 6:00 am

    Been taking garcinia for 3 days now also started drinking apple cider vinegar about 2 months ago. Im down 10lbs. Apple cider vinegar has helped me lose weight very slowly as well as rid some inflamation ii had in my body. I dont know much about the garcinia tho. Im really only taking it cuz i got it free from a family member.

  • Rhonda Tyler July 24, 2017, 7:51 pm

    I’ve been taking Garcinia Cambogia since 8-2016 I’ve changed my diet I also walk but haven’t yet to see the results it promise I’m very dissatisfied with the none results if anyone can recommend sumthing for weight loss I will appreciate. Thank you

  • Cassie August 7, 2017, 8:50 pm

    I also signed up for the exact story explained in this article. I paid $4.95 for half of the S&H, but when I clicked on the “Proceed to Checkout” , it also ordered a bottle of Pure Forskolin. I called today to cancel my subscription and was given the option to return the 2 bottles and pay $25.95 for S&H (uhhh it was only about $10 to ship it to my house) or I could pay $39.97 to keep the bottles. As far as the “Free Trial”, the lady told me it was a PRE trial, which is why I had to pay for the bottles to keep them. I definitely learned my lesson today! These things better work! I also tried to drink a couple tsp of apple cider vinegar and that was so disgusting I almost threw up and I even had it mixed with Powerade and chased it with regular Powerade. The 1st day I took the meds, I didn’t have an appetite, but ate a burger when my family did and got very sick to my stomach for several hours. Unsure if the 2 are related, but none the less I could lose weight if it makes me sick every time I eat, thus making me avoid eating all together.

  • Jerry August 20, 2017, 9:38 pm

    Too bad I didn’t check out before ordering. DON’T DO IT!!!!
    Upon checking out, I thought it forced me to buy additional pills for another $4.95. Then after my order was submitted I found very small print at the bottom of the page allowing to opt out.
    Now I look at my credit card and I’m charged $89.95 and $68.97 of additional charges. I find out I didn’t read the terms and conditions that said this was just a 14 day trial. You don’t see that anywhere on the website do you? Dummy me. No wonder I rarely order on line.
    My credit card company hooked me up with the company’s customer service and after ranting and raving, they finally agreed to reverse the charges. We’ll see.
    I threw the pills away after reading other reviews. Dummy me again!
    DON’T ORDER!!!!!!

  • Kristi Goodman September 3, 2017, 7:51 pm

    I have sent off for my free trial in July have not received any pills and have been charged twice on my card I don’t know how to get ahold of them it’s Ultra Platinum cambogia garcinia

  • Sharon Lewis September 10, 2017, 1:52 am

    SCAMMERS! I wanted to try the free trial. They tacked on a second product that I did not want. I made sure that I did not click on it but I received it anyway did not get a chance to confirm order and did not know how to cancel. Received both orders with very small packing slip with nothing about a 14 day trial. Email did not included anything about a 14 day trial. 2 separate charges 1 for $89.95 and 1 for $79.95 appeared on my card. I called and was told that there were no refunds and sales were final but they were willing to cancel any future shipments (wasn’t that nice of them).i was told that the charges were for the products I had already received. I told them that their product wasn’t even worth $5 much less $80 and $90 each. I also let them know that I believe they are scam artists and I was disputing the charges and reporting them to the Better Business Bureau.

Leave a Comment

Real Time Analytics